Apple SIM in Canada- The Coverage and Connection

Apple SIM

Apple SIM gives you the convenience of choosing a cellular data plan from carrier partners right on your iPhone or iPad. So you can stay connected when you’re away from a Wi‑Fi hotspot. When you travel, Apple SIM gives you the flexibility to stay connected in more than 180 countries and regions. When you reach your destination and want to check your email, find directions or send a message back home, you can purchase a cellular data plan for however long you need it.

Similar to as Google connects its Nexus 6 phone to Project fi Apple too is entering the MVNO space . You’re now able to easily connect to a partner carrier when you’re overseas.

Apple Sim plans

Apple SIM devices are unlocked and contract-free, enabling improved consumer choice and easier international roaming. Initially Apple SIM was launched in October 2014 and allowed the users to select from a number of roaming deals in any given country. After launching in USA and UK offering the local service now Apple SIM in Canada is working with Gigsky a roaming provider.

In the U.S., Apple SIM users can choose from plans with AT&T, Sprint and T-Mobile.  In the U.K., EE coverage is available. For users in other parts of Europe, GigSky is available. While GigSky does provide service in Canada, the plans are not attractive. Better are the deals in parts of Europe, such as Germany, Spain and Portugal, where $50 gets 3GB of service.

Apple SIM partners

The benefit to travellers is that Apple SIM contradicts the need to seek out a local SIM card in each country visited, as the deal with GigSky offers compelling and reasonably-priced packages in most areas. Apple SIM is now available in its retail stores and costs $10 across Canada.

$10 300 MB 1 Days
$25 1 GB 30 Days
$35 2 GB 30 Days
$50 5 GB 30 Days

Apple SIM is configured in Wi-Fi + Cellular models in the U.S. and U.K. and is available for individual purchase at Apple Store locations in Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the UK and the U.S.